Congratulations to this year’s chemical engineering graduate award winners.

The following graduate awards were presented at the end of the 2019-2020 academic year to deserving chemical engineering students.

Elmer L. Gaden Excellence in Doctoral Study Award

Established by John Wiley & Sons publishers to recognize emeritus professor Elmer L. Gaden Jr. at his retirement as editor of the journal Biotechnology & Bioengineering. Faculty select a doctoral student near his or her last year of study for excellence in research, especially in independent planning and accomplishment. Service to the department, particularly as a graduate teaching assistant, is also be considered.

  • Gordon Brezicki
  • Stephanie Guthrie

Louis T. Rader Chemical Engineering Prize for Graduate Students

Given at the time of graduation to a doctoral student in recognition of academic ability, an ability to get along well with others and to work hard.

  • Nicholas Murphy

Chemical Engineering Special Recognition Award

Awarded by the faculty to recognize academic achievement, an outstanding doctoral dissertation or service to the department by a graduating student or students. This award is reserved for special circumstances and is not given every year.

  • James Tang

Chemical Engineering Teaching Assistant Award

Recognizes doctoral students who demonstrate a strong commitment to chemical engineering education through their dedicated service as a teaching assistant.

  • Stephanie Guthrie

DuPont Safety Award

Sponsored by DuPont to promote safety in research labs. Given each year to the student who submits the best proposal or implements measures for improving safety in the lab.

  • Mara Kuenen