The second annual Athanasiou ABME Student Award Session will be held at the 2019 BMES Annual Meeting. Just six awardees have been selected from all papers first-authored by students and postdocs in 2018 in the Annals of Biomedical Engineering.  Hossack Lab's Adam Dixon (PhD '16) is one of the six.

Link to Adam's award-winning paper

The Kyriacos and Kiley Athanasiou Endowment was established in 2017 within the Biomedical Engineering Society (BMES) to promote biomedical engineering scholarship and honor the contributions of Dr. Kyriacos Athanasiou to the field. One goal of the endowment is to recognize excellence in future leaders of biomedical engineering by awarding the top papers published in the Annals of Biomedical Engineering (ABME) by graduate students and post-doctoral scholars.

Adam's paper was entitled "In vitro sonothrombolysis enhancement by transiently stable microbubbles produced by a flow-focusing microfluidic device." He will present the paper at BMES in October 2019 during a special awards session.