Brenton S. Halsey Distinguished Visiting Professorship in Chemical Engineering

The Brenton S. Halsey Distinguished Visiting Professor in Chemical Engineering is an individual of broad and practical experience making an impact on the education, scholarship and professional development of students at the University of Virginia School of Engineering.

The Halsey Professor has principal responsibility for a limited-enrollment, School-wide, senior-level course that focuses on themes of human values and practices in technical business and industry. It is to complement the current educational programs and personal growth experiences of professional-level engineering students.

This annual appointment is made by the University Board of Visitors and is endowed by a generous grant from the James River Corporation in honor of one of its founders upon his retirement.

Current Halsey Professor

  • Ron Unnerstall

    2019 Brenton S. Halsey Distinguished Visiting Professor

    Ron Unnerstall retired in 2017 after a distinguished career in the Petroleum Refining and Marketing industry spanning over 34 years with Amoco and then BP plc . His career was predominately in Refining and Marketing, including 24 years in refineries, spanning four locations within the US, and other executive assignments in Chicago, London and Shanghai.  He holds a B.S. degree in Chemical Engineering from Purdue University and a M.S. in Management from Stanford University.

    UVA Faculty Profile

Previous Halsey Professors

  • 2018 Dr. Catherine T. “Katie” Hunt  | UVA Profile | LinkedIn
  • 2017 Dr. Catherine T. “Katie” Hunt  | UVA Profile | LinkedIn
  • 2016 Jeanne E. Stahl | LinkedIn
  • 2015 Dr. Ross Thomas
  • 2014 Jeffrey Harding
  • 2013 Dr. Ross Thomas
  • 2012 Dr. Michael King | UVA Profile
  • 2011 John R. Irwin
  • 2010 Wendy Yarno | LinkedIn
  • 2009 William F. Hall III
  • 2008 Dr. Michael King | UVA Profile
  • 2007 Dr. Helmut Porkert
  • 2006 Robert Gadomski
  • 2005 James Ferris
  • 2004 Dr. Ramon Espino
  • 2003 Glenn Taylor
  • 2002 Alan R. Hirsig
  • 2001 Dr. Ramon Espino
  • 2000 Vincent Russo
  • 1999 Dr. J. Dieter Stein
  • 1998 David Ashcraft
  • 1997 Bob Moore
  • 1996 Jim Trice Jr.
  • 1995 Nick Prater