UVA Engineering Professor Named to National Academy of Inventors

Barry Johnson, L.A. Lacy Distinguished Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering, has earned two new achievements: election to the National Academy of Inventors and promotion to acting assistant director for the Engineering Directorate at the National Science Foundation.

Johnson has been serving as acting deputy assistant director and division director for industrial innovation and partnerships within the Engineering Directorate. As the acting head of the Engineering Directorate, he will report directly to the NSF Director, France Cordova.

Johnson joined the UVA faculty in 1984 as an assistant professor in the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering after working at Harris Corp. for several years. He rose steadily within the department and in 1998 became director of the Center for Safety-Critical Systems. From 2006 to 2011, Johnson was the Engineering School’s associate dean for research.

While at Virginia, Johnson acted as a consultant to more than a dozen companies and government agencies. In 2001 he co-founded the biometric security company Privaris Inc., where he served as chairman of the board of directors and, for nearly four years, as president and chief executive officer.

He is credited as one of the original architects of the Commonwealth Center for Advanced Manufacturing and modeling public private partnerships.

Johnson earned his bachelor’s degree, master’s degree and Ph.D. in electrical engineering at UVA. His expertise is in techniques for the design and analysis of safety-critical systems. He has investigated architectures and algorithms to ensure the safety of hardware/software systems, and he has developed methods for modeling, analyzing and predicting the safety of these systems. He has published more than 150 technical articles, and he is an inventor on 29 issued patents.

Johnson’s work has been recognized with many awards, including the Frederick Emmons Terman Award, the C. Holmes MacDonald Award and the Alan Berman Research Publications Award. He won the Alumni Board of Trustees and UVA Endowment Fund Young Teacher Award, State Council of Higher Education for Virginia Outstanding Faculty Award and the UVA Engineering Foundation Outstanding Faculty Award. Johnson has been active in IEEE as both a committee member and editor, and in 2006 he was named a fellow of IEEE for his contributions to fault-tolerant computing. He served as president of the IEEE Computer Society in 1997.