Congratulations to our faculty members who have earned promotions this summer:  Mona Zebarjadi, to associate professor of electrical and computer engineering and materials science and engineering; Steven M. Bowers, to associate professor of electrical and computer engineering; and Andreas Beling, to full professor of electrical and computer engineering.

Mona Zebarjadi is an expert in the field of thermoelectricity. She earned an NSF CAREER award in 2017 to design solid-state power generators that work under large temperature differences; her discoveries take a step toward wide commercialization of solid-state power generators for industrial waste heat recovery and solar-thermal-electrical conversion. Zebarjadi previously earned a Young Investigator Program award from the Air Force Office of Scientific Research to explore electronic meta-materials. Her discoveries in active heat sinks were highlighted by Nature Electronics in 2019.

Steven Bowers has developed a highly collaborative research program in microwave integrated circuits for both low power internet of things and high-performance mm-wave applications, securing $8M as principal investigator from a wide variety of external funders. Bowers earned the coveted NSF CAREER award in 2019 to maximize the efficiency of the systems used to transmit and receive data in wireless sensor networks. 

Andreas Beling is an expert in semiconductor optoelectronic devices with a focus on photodetectors for microwave photonics and communications. A widely recognized leader in high-power photodetectors, Beling is involved in three recently awarded projects from DARPA’s Lasers for Universal Microscale Optical Systems program. Several of his students have earned best-paper awards; his 2020 Optics Express paper, in which his team demonstrated the first high-performance photodetector for photonic integrated circuits on silicon nitride, earned favorable notice as an “Editor’s Pick.”