Biomedical Engineering Society

The Biomedical Engineering Society provides social, academic, and professional events for its members.

Undergraduate BMES Board 2023-2024

Co-presidents: Josiah Calhoun and Gabriella Haiz
Treasurer: Aparna Trivedi
Social Chair: Julianna Hitchcock
Communications Chair: Catherine Sklar
Outreach Chair: Alex Korsah
4th year representative: Mackenzie Zimmerman
3rd year representative: Keelin Reilly
2nd year representative: Cecilia Fetterolf

Graduate BMES Board (GBMES) 2022-2023

President – Bryana Harris
Outreach Co-Chairs – Wisam Fares and Stefanyda Masolva
Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Co-chairs – Lilly DeCostanza, Zehra Demir, and Catalina Alvarez
Seminar and Symposium Co-chairs – Luisa Quesada and Yonatan Degefu
Social Co-chairs – Alexia Wallace and Tanya Cruz
Recruitment Co-chairs – Kaitlyn Wintruba and Gabi Matrinez
International Students Chair – Candace Lei
Master of Engineering Chair – Rithika Kormath
Green Labs Chair – Sam Crowl
Professional and Career Development Chairs – Robert Barnes and Jack Echols


Although thiese organizations have members who are University of Virginia students and may have University employees associated or engaged in its activities and affairs, the organization is not a part of or an agency of the University. It is a separate and independent organization which is responsible for and manages its own activities and affairs. The University does not direct, supervise or control the organization and is not responsible for the organization’s contracts, acts or omissions.

Contact Information

Karen Sleezer

Undergraduate Program Manager, Department of Biomedical Engineering