Meet the Board

The External Advisory Board (EAB) of the Department of Materials Science and Engineering (DMSE) is a diverse-distinguished group of alumni and leaders representing many facets of the MSE profession ranging from industry, governments laboratories, and academia

Mission Statement: The Mission of the EAB is to assist the DMSE at UVa in developing, planning, and implementing initiatives in education, research, and service. With their professional advice, the EAB-DMSE council identifies external trends and conveys issues that might impact or alter the DMSE strategic vision. These esteemed colleagues advise the department on academic matters, diversity/inclusion issues, engagement, as well as current and future directions in materials science and engineering research. The EAB helps identify contemporary and future needs, gaps, and opportunities that should be strongly considered in the strategic planning of the department.

MSE External Advisory Board

  • Dr. Nick Birbilis

    Dr. Nick Birbilis

    Australian National University

    Deputy Dean, College of Engineering and Computer Science



  • Dr. Rudy Buchheit

    Dr. Rudy Buchheit

    University of Kentucky

    Dean of the College of Engineering

    Alumnus 1991


  • Dr. Ignatius Chan

    Dr. Ignatius Chan

    Chevron Energy Technology Company

    Senior Staff Scientist and Technical Leader for the Material Characterization Team

    Alumnus 1980


  • Dr. Bradley Fox

    Dr. Bradley Fox

    Associate Dean and Executive Director Professionals Masters Program

    Duke University

    Associate Dean and Executive Director Professionals Masters Program  

    Alumnus 1990


  • Dr. Jeffrey Glass

    Dr. Jeffrey Glass

    Duke University

    Professor and Hogg Family Director, Engineering Management & Entrepreneurship Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering

    Alumnus 1986


  • Dr. David Kolman

    Dr. David Kolman

    Los Alamos National Laboratory

    Associate Editor of Corrosion

    Alumnus 1996


  • Dr. Jenifer Locke

    Dr. Jenifer Locke

    Ohio State University

    Assistant Professor, Materials Science and Engineering

    Alumna 2010


  • Dr. Dave Matlock

    Dr. Dave Matlock

    Colorado School of Mines

    University Emeritus Professor, Advanced Steel Processing and Products Research Center


  • Dr. Elsa Olivetti

    Dr. Elsa Olivetti

    Massachusetts Institute of Technology

    Atlantic Richfield Associate Professor of Energy Studies

    Alumna 2000


  • Dr. Greg Olsen

    Dr. Greg Olsen

    GHO Ventures, LLC


    Alumnus 1971



  • Dr. Rebecca Schaller

    Dr. Rebecca Schaller

    University of British Columbia

    Assistant Professor of Materials Engineering

    Alumna 2017


  • Dr. Gayle Schueller

    Dr. Gayle Schueller


    Vice President and Chief Sustainability Officer

    Alumna 1992



  • Dr. Eric Stach

    Dr. Eric Stach

    University of Pennsylvania 

    Professor in the Department of Materials Science and Engineering

    Alumnus 1998