• Afsaneh Doryab

    Assistant Professor, Systems Engineering Assistant Professor, Computer Science
    Headshot of Afsaneh Doryab

    Afsaneh Doryab's research is at the intersection of ubiquitous computing, AI, HCI, and health. She works on computational modeling of human behavior (incl. Activity Recognition) from data streams collected via mobile, wearable, and embedded sensors. 

  • Nicole Dufalla

    Senior Lecturer, First Year Engineering Center
    Nicole Dufalla headshot
  • Diana Franco Duran

    Assistant Professor Academic General Faculty Teaching Track Director Construction Engineering and Management Concentration
    Headshot of Diana Duran.

    Diana Franco Duran is an Assistant Professor in the Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering. She manages the newly initiated Construction Engineering and Management (CEM) concentration.

  • Sandhya Dwarkadas

    Walter N. Munster Professor and Chair Department of Computer Science
    Sandhya Dwarkadas

    Her research lies at the intersection of computer hardware and software with a particular focus on support for parallelism.

  • Matthew B. Dwyer

    Robert Thomson Distinguished Professor Computer Science
    Matthew D

    Matthew B. Dwyer is the Robert Thomson Distinguished Professor in the Department of Computer Science at the University of Virginia.

  • Joshua Earle

    Assistant Professor
    Joshua Earle

    Joshua Earle is a PhD in Science, Technology, and Society (STS) from Virginia Tech. His work focuses on the history of eugenics, and its connection to modern genetic medicine and to future imaginaries of human and more-than-human worlds. His work is situated in Feminist Philosophy of Technology, Disability Studies anBlack Feminist Philosophy.

  • Sebastian Elbaum

    Anita Jones Faculty Fellow and Professor Computer Science
    Sebastian Elbaum

    My research aims to build dependable systems through domain-specific analysis techniques. My teaching focuses on instilling cost-effective software development principles. I am a founding member of the LESS Lab.  

  • William Epling

    Department Chair Ann Warrick Lacy Distinguished Professor
    William Epling

    Bill received his PhD from the University of Florida in 1997 and his BS from Virginia Tech in 1992, both in Chemical Engineering.

  • Frederick H. Epstein

    Mac Wade Professor of Biomedical Engineering Professor of Radiology and Medical Imaging Associate Dean for Research, School of Engineering and Applied Science
    headshot of Frederick Epstein

    Dr. Epstein is recognized for his contributions to the field of cardiac magnetic resonance imaging. He has been a world leader in advancing MRI myocardial strain imaging by developing and applying the cine DENSE (displacement encoding using stimulated echoes) MRI method.

  • Keivan Esfarjani

    Associate Professor
    Keivan Esfarjani

    Keivan Esfarjani is theoretical and computational materials scientist.  He has pioneered a method to compute phonon lifetimes and thermal conductivity of solids from density functional calculation of force constants. He has held appointments at the Institute for Materials Research of the Tohoku University, UC Santa Cruz and MIT, amongst many other.